3.2 GPA, 514 MCAT. Do I have a chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mrcloud

Reaction score
Hi there,

I applied during the 2017-2018 application cycle and was not successful at all. So I'm planning to either reapply this summer or do a SMP.

However, I just got the news that I've been accepted to UQ-Ochsner School of Medicine in Australia. This program (since it's in the southern hemisphere) starts January 2019. Putting the SMP option aside, I'm debating whether or not I should just attend this school next year or reapply this summer, mostly do DO schools (as a side note, I applied to only a handful of DOs last cycle, and they were all either in CA or NJ/NY). If I were to reapply this cycle, I would not make the same mistake again and definitely apply to a wider range of DOs across the US.

In regards to the SMP option, I applied to the one at Rutgers NJMS (since I'm a NJ resident) and got in. If I choose this option, I will start end of August and finish by next May, and if all goes well, I will get the guaranteed interview and hopefully get into the school.

So I have 3 options:
1. Attend UQ-Ochsner in Jan 2019
2. Reapply to DOs this summer
3. Do the Rutgers SMP and hope that things go well for a MD admission

Just for context, I have the usual ECs - research, volunteering, clinical experience, shadowing - but nothing crazy or extraordinary. My LORs are pretty good though (from physicians I worked with as a scribe during the past 1.5 years).

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

When/where did you apply? Did you get any interviews? Tbh those stats should have gotten you into a DO school somewhere (of course I know nothing is guaranteed) but acing a SMP will increase your odds. I would do the SmP over a foreign med school but make sure you have your study habits on lock.