Your thoughts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PlAnEjaNe

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am wondering what my chances are of getting into an smp. I graduated from a quality institution last year but my gpa is dismal (2.56 science and 2.8ish overall). I am taking upper division science classes right now on my own and I will definitely get all A's (3 courses 3 units each) because I have been doing really well and have received 90% or better on all exams (even when the avgs were in the 50's and 60's). I have done the calculations and have found that if I take another 3 courses next semester and get all A's in those my bcmp gpa will still only be a 2.73 and overall a 2.9ish. I want to take the MCAT in April and so I will probably only take 2 courses instead of 3 so I can study---the difference b/w 2 and 3 courses amts to .0303 gpa pts....essentially negligible. Should I take 3 courses and study for MCAT or should I just stick with the 2?? Also, how competitive will I be with my stats (I hope to get 30 on MCAT)....will the fact that I have 4.0 in the postbac be able to cast shadow on my poor ug gpa?? I am looking at SMP programs and will apply in Dec/Jan. Any thoughts will be much appreciated. Thx.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,