WWYD??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peytonj17

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I just have a couple questions about postbaccs/SMPs and was wondering if anyone could give me some advice or tell me what you would do in my position.

I graduated from my state school in 2022 with a 3.5 cGPA and ~3.1 sGPA. I decided I wanted to be either a PA or a doctor the fall of my sophomore year, which coincidentally was right before Covid started. I really struggled when classes moved completely online, so my grades from then, which were basically all prereqs, are all Bs and Cs. I was definitely struggling with my mental health which I know I shouldn’t talk about in my application, but that’s why I was doing so badly. I got on meds, which helped for a while, but I was still struggling (I just got officially diagnosed with ADHD, which is a relief).
My last semester of college, I lost a close friend and had to withdraw from all my classes, except for the ones I needed to graduate.

After graduating, I started working as a CNA at a hospital in my city. It’s a teaching hospital, which has been really interesting and overall a great experience. Actually, working with the doctors and APPs at my job is what convinced me I’d rather be a doctor than a PA. After a year of working full time, I decided to apply to my local four year college to finish up my prereqs. Well, last semester I took orgo 2 and genetics and got a C in genetics and a D in orgo 2. This semester I’m taking physics 2 and biochemistry which are going better, but I definitely won’t get an A in biochem. This has dropped my cGPA to about a 3.4 and my sGPA to a 2.92. I’m planning to retake orgo 2 this summer. I haven’t taken the MCAT yet (I test 4/12) and have been averaging ~505 on my FLs.