Would you go into hem onc if you were a med student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TexasMed22

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
We hear a lot about the doom and gloom for rad onc as a field, but as a med student, I hear very little about hem onc and its future. Overall, it seems like a solid field with a decent lifestyle, great compensation, and large future growth. Was just wondering what everyone on here thought?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I agree with those points. I prefer to do stuff rather than just write prescriptions or infusion regimens, so I wasn't as interested, but it's a great field to consider.

Reactions: 2 users
We hear a lot about the doom and gloom for rad onc as a field, but as a med student, I hear very little about hem onc and its future. Overall, it seems like a solid field with a decent lifestyle, great compensation, and large future growth. Was just wondering what everyone on here thought?

Thanks
cart cell and other modalities are probably going to be huge

Members don't see this ad :)

Thanks

Why are you posting here then? Why not start with the Heme onc board?

No one is gonna broadcast a good field.

The future is bright in terms of new treatments, but ultimately the vast majority of their patient panel dies from their disease and your bread and butter is prescribing medicines and managing side effects. The anatomical/surgical-like aspects are what drew me to rad onc. There will always be a role for radiation in the foreseeable future, but probably not a need for more of us like there is in Heme onc.

If rad onc wasn’t an option, I don’t think I would have done med onc. Probably cardiology or ortho or something. Would be tough because honestly nothing interested me as much as rad onc

Reactions: 1 user