Rad onc as a second residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dopamemes

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I was wondering given how rad onc has been in the match the last few years, how realistic it would be for a mid-career physician (early 40's, 10 years in practice) to get accepted at a rad onc residency program as a second residency?

I was super interested in rad onc as a med student but that was at the height of rad onc's competitiveness. I was an average student at best and ended up going into psychiatry. My psychiatry career has been fine, I'm making 600ksh and have a great lifestyle. However, to be blunt, I've never been professionally satisfied in psychiatry. It's not a field that particularly interests me and I mostly chose it because I was burnt out in med school and wanted a residency that would have a decent work-life balance (I was choosing between psych, PMR, and anesthesia).

Which brings me to rad onc. I know it's not going to be a financially sound decision but at this point in my career, my financial goals have been met. Given how long I've been out of med school and how much general medicine I've forgotten, is it realistic to apply for rad onc? What steps should I take to increase my odds. Any and all advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone. I was wondering given how rad onc has been in the match the last few years, how realistic it would be for a mid-career physician (early 40's, 10 years in practice) to get accepted at a rad onc residency program as a second residency?