Would you apply to medical school if you had an immune issue?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OpheliasWings

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I just wanted to post here and get some input from someone outside of the box. I am a non-traditional student, about to finish out my bachelors degree in Psychology. I was originally a pre-nursing student then decided I wanted to apply to medical school to become a pediatrician. Last Spring at this time I had an unexpected spleen removal surgery and have since been on high alert about my health and lack of immunity. I was assured by my surgeon that I could go into any line of work I wanted to as long as I was cautious and stayed up to date on my vaccines every 5 years.
The problem is that I feel that being a med student and eventually a doctor would put me at a huge risk of infection being around ill people in a hospital setting all the time. Perhaps this is common sense or perhaps it's just my self preservation setting in, but I wanted to get opinions from others.
Would any of you go into medicine knowing that you would be at a higher risk of infection?

I have also considered going into pediatric physical therapy as an alternative route. I figure that it would give me a different option where I could help people, but reduce my risk of being in a high risk environment all the time.

Any thoughts? Any suggestions on alternative career paths in the medical field?

Thanks in advance!
Sonseria

Members don't see this ad.

Other than a splenectomy, you have a perfectly normal immune system, correct? If that's the case, it sounds like the real issue is that you're a bit of a hypochondriac. Though if you're so worried about your health that you feel like you can't handle being around sick people, I agree that medicine is not the best career choice for you.

Reactions: 1 user