How to know if Medical School or PhD is right for you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coriander1998

Reaction score
Hi, I am making a thread on something that likely has been asked a million times. Thank you in advance for your help.

I am really struggling with the question of whether I should pursue a clinical psych PHD or a medical school degree (from where I plan on becoming a psychiatrist or a neurologist). I graduated from undergrad about 3 years ago with the idea that I would become a psychological researcher, and I wanted to pursue clinical psych specifically as I know that it is difficult to achieve a TT position and thought that counseling would be a good fall-back strategy for me. I love research and I am naturally a very curious person; I love learning and I love school. That being said achieving a clinical psych phd appears to be very difficult. I applied to two different cycles – once right out of undergraduate (complete failure and probably a mistake to apply with no experience) and once now. I knew I was not going to get in now as I still do not have ANY publications but my father who believes in me convinced me somehow that I would be successful. I feel that it was a mistake and waste of thousands of dollars in application fees to apply and I feel like a ***** to have wasted the time of some many of my recommenders (I applied to like 15 schools). I also however applied to a few masters programs, and have been accepted to my least preferred choice for a 2-year program in low/midtier school that would involve me moving to a location about 5 hours away from friends and family, but which would guarantee me research experieince and at least one publication (via the masters thesis). I have not heard back from two schools yet but I assume by this time they are likely rejections (they are both competitive schools). I have until May 1 to respond to this school and state whether I am ac