Would this be wise???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Akamu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Opinions or advice....

I am an Osteopathic student who is debating whether or not to take the USMLE step 1, or stick to my original plan of taking USMLE step 2 (not the PE) along with my COMLEX 2 CK/PE. The thing is, I have a 634 on COMLEX step 1, I am ranked in the top 10% of my class, am in the Honor Society, and I have done pretty well on all of my shelf exams and rotations with only one two more to go.
Geography is important to me for residency (primarily west coast & a few east coast programs), and many programs do accept COMLEX, other's do not, some are vague. I am wondering if taking step 1 nine months after the fact is a good idea- if I don't do really well it might be a black mark on an otherwise solid application. On the other hand, I fell well prepared for step 2, and will have both PE/CK done by July and available to programs. I was planning on just taking step 2 USMLE as well, just to give the allo programs something to look at, but it's hard to find a definitive answer as to whether or not this is relevant to my application without step 1. I know for most family med programs it's not a problem, but it is moreso for ER/SURG/ANESTHESIA.... I am applying for a few DO residencies as well, but knowing how random things are, I'm not banking on anything.

When I started medical school I never thought the hardest decision I would ever make was what KIND of physician to be....

Members don't see this ad.

well if your interestd in Surg or Anesthesia..that coupled with location being important to you..take the USMLE step 1 100%. My score on the comlex was similar to yours but I didnt take usmle I. I matched into my #1 in a competitive specialty, but looking back it would have been much smarter for me to take it.