Work Experience for MBA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doc luv

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm a current medical student looking to get an MD/MBA. However, I realize that most decent MBA programs want you to have some sort of work experience. I came to medical school straight out of undergrad, and except for some time working in health policy on the Hill, I have little health administration/business experience. Has anyone been in a similar position and been able to still get into an MBA program? Any help would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

flindophile said:
Work experience is more important at the top tier programs. There is no doubt that you can get admitted to an MBA program without experience; however, you may have difficulty getting admitted to one of the best ones. The top programs may evaluate MD/MBA programs differently and not weigh the work experience so heavily.

As a practical matter, you will get more out of your MBA education if you have work experience.

I agree with EVERYTHING flindophile said!

flindophile said:
Work experience is more important at the top tier programs. There is no doubt that you can get admitted to an MBA program without experience; however, you may have difficulty getting admitted to one of the best ones. The top programs may evaluate MD/MBA programs differently and not weigh the work experience so heavily.

As a practical matter, you will get more out of your MBA education if you have work experience.

i agree ... I'm sure your MD program has a joing program with UVA's MBA program in Darden, talk to your dean about it. I have a friend in an MD/MBA program who decided during 3rd year she needed a break. She had NO business experience at all. Granted it not a top tier program but they are looking to change the MBA program to an Ivy League school next year ... and most med students I know have NO business experience.
:luck: