Windsor University School of Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wellwisher05

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi !

I am a Canadian student, currently in second year at a reputable
university. Recently I came across this school in Carribean.

Heres a link to their site:
http://www.windsor.edu/new_site/mainpage.html

They claim that tuitions are only about $4000/semester and this
includes housing.

On top of that they accept high school graduates, provided
that they do an additional year.

They have a pre Md program, and an MD program, pre MD
being 2 semesters longer.

I am not sure which states it is accredited by and how
hard it will be to obtain residency afterwards.

Comments? Do you think its a good choice, if getting into
canadian medical schools look next to impossible to get into?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Why don't you look at the number of residents they have produced over the past 12 years and then make your decision. It's not accredited by all 50 states.

If you're Canadian and in 2nd year you still have a chance to bring your marks up and get into a Canadian med school. If not then try for American DO schools. If you can't get into both those places do a masters and reapply to the latter option. If it doesn't work out there then I would suggest going only to Saba, SGU, Ross or AUC. But considering the current situation right now with residency slots I wouldn't place my bets on the carib especially if you're considering applying for 2012.

Members don't see this ad :)
School seems to be a scam. My brother in law goes there and they advertise financial aid all the time but there is no financial aid. Any word on this place?

For one the premed program is not 2 semester but there 3 semester according to some people. They do the third semester after basic science- not sure how or why it is like that.

There seems to be quite a bit of misinformation in this thread.