Will an SMP help me get an M.D. interview in Texas?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zmy6262

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am wondering if an SMP would help my chances of getting an MD interview (Texas)
I graduated with a 3.51 GPA and entered post-bacc to finish pre-med pre-reqs and got destroyed by ochem 1 with a C-.. that dropped my GPA to 3.47 and I am currently retaking it with a different professor along side ochem 2. I do believe I will be able to pull at least a B in both classes, but that will finish it for my pre reqs. My first 60 hours contained most of my other pre med pre-reqs and I did not have great study habits (regret). There is an upward trend in my GPA in my last 60 hours (3.60+ each semester)
My Stats kinda suck (embarrassing):
ENG : A
ENG 2: A
STATS: A
PHYSICS 1: B
PHYSICS 1 LAB: A
PHYSICS 2: A
PHYSICS 2 LAB: A
BIO 1: B
BIO 2: C
GENETICS: A
CHEM 1: C
CHEM 1 LAB: B
CHEM 2: B
CHEM 2 LAB: B
ORG 1: C- (retaking now)
ORG 1 LAB: A-
I am also in 2 research labs now, no publications yet. I worked as a scribe for a couple years, became a trainer and have experience in ER Med, Wound Care, Endo. I volunteer as a crisis counselor and have volunteered at the local salvation army in the past. I also have shadowed physical therapy.. As far as clubs go I have been in 3 different clubs 2 pertaining to medicine.
Sorry if this is everywhere, but was wondering your guys thoughts on my chances of an MD interview following a strong (hopefully 3.7+) year in an SMP with a decent MCAT 510-512.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
On some very limited experience with some Texans who went through my own SMP, answer is yes.

As a reinventor, you'll still need to have DO schools on your list
Okay awesome. If you dont mind me asking, with my stats do you think SMP is the correct route?