Which healthcare field is worth the debt?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DocEodice

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, so I am currently 25 years of age. I hold my bachelors degree in health sciences and I am completely done with all of the prerequisites for graduate school of any health care career (gen chem, orgo, physics, bio, anat/phys, etc.). I'm doing much research, and I'm just not sure which field to go into. My heart is in physical therapy, but I am terribly worried I will not make enough money as a therapist to live comfortably and pay off my debt. This might sound wrong, but I am a very materialistic individual. I know that is not the best way to live, but I can't help myself, that is just the way I am. In the future I want to be able to provide for myself as well as my family, live in a larger than average home and drive a nice sports car. Obviously this will be very difficult to do on a physical therapist's salary, even with years of experience. In addition to shadowing physical therapists, I have also shadowed physicians (PMR) and absolutely loved what they do as well. I understand they make a substantial amount more than PT's make, but also they carry a lot more debt.

My main question to you: Which health care field do you recommend going into (that is a graduate level education) that you feel is worth taking on the debt for?

As it might seem, I have done much shadowing for PT and Physiatry, so I am between those two, but I am looking for your opinions on what graduate level health care field is worth the amount of debt? Please keep in mind when answering this question the work/life balance, salary, and stress.

Thanks!
Best,
Anthony

Members don't see this ad.