Where, why, why not and how?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mavrick

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
:) Hi guys. I am an EMT here in the UK. I am hoping to move out to the States next year and continue with the "Good work" :) (Red tape etc allowing!)
Although I have travelled most of California and some Arizona, (Plus Orlando this coming July :) ) my knowledge of the rest of your fine country is limited.
I just wanted to hear from people to find out about where they work and live. Where do you recommend I apply to? Are you happy where you work? :) Where should I avoid? :(
From what I can gather so far I need to get registered in the State that I am applying to. Can you give me any info on that?
Feel free to message me if you dont want to reply here.
I am used to working in a busy city. We receive on average between 1000 and 1200 calls a day here and serve about 3.5 million people. (Small fry to some of you out there but it keeps me busy.)
So, I dont mind hectic or just right.

PS. This is a great site so keep up the good work.

Members don't see this ad.

I may be grossly mistaken but I do not know of many large systems in the US that still hire EMTs to run on ambluances. Most of the larger systems are moving to fire based and the amblances are staffed by 2 paramedics. The smaller cities and third services may be your best hope.

As for certification I am not sure that any of the states would take a froeign certification. You may want to contact NAEMT or National Registry, both may be able to better help you with those needs.

Are you an EMT or a paramedic in the UK?

From my experience with the training programs, the paramedic courses there are about the equivalent in length as our EMT-Intermediate courses.

It is highly unlikely -- but possible -- that you will be able to get "reciprocity." You will more than likely need to retake your EMT training here.

Cheers!