when to pursue MBA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AllisonAsh

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi,

i'm in my second year of med school and am thinking about the possibility of going to business school between my 3rd and 4th year.

when is the best time to pursue another degree? between 3rd and 4th year? after 4th year? after residency?

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone:

What do you expect to gain from an MBA program? Really it is not a trade school, more of an intense group based clarification of common sense principals. Let's consider the four schools of business:

Accounting:
If you really wanted to concentrate on this you should have been an accountant. This is a huge field but to grasp the basics all you need is a nice book and a few hours.

Marketing:
You're here to prescribe drugs, not sell them. Don't see how this really mixes with an MD's focus.

Finance:
A HUGE field. If you are absolutely interested in maximising personal wealth through investment then you should definitely consider taking some finance courses. They are unique and are a true study. Finance MBA's have an entire new window of opportunities available to them that most MBA's never see (investment banker, stockbroker, etc). The applied science field of economics.

Management:
Worth consideration if you want to be in a leadership role someday. It is true that leaders are made and not necessarily born, this focus can bring you to that point.

There is an up and coming field called Management Information Services which deals with the collaboration of computer science with business purposes.