What to do in my situation? Postbac or CC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pediclescrews

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I graduated from Yale in 2013 with a degree in film studies. I was on the baseball team and it was extremely difficult for me to make grades (not an excuse but my focus was on baseball). I finished with I think a 2. 7 or 2.8 GPA with essentially no courses that count toward pre-med except for English. I took two years of math but not calculus or trig. I have been in the medical industry working as a sales consultant in spine, providing instrumentation for spine surgery. I have seen and assisted in over 100 cases done by orthopedic and neurosurgeons. My father is also a neurosurgeon. I had a revelation after doing my second cadaver lab and placing pedicle screws that I could really do well as a spine surgeon. I am strongly considering pursuing medical school but I am trying to figure out if and how this is possible. Would it be better to go to a postbac program and try to complete the necessary courses? or do it at a community college? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

With your gpa, you should focus on furthering your career in medical sales/consulting because you have a very slim chance of being accepted into medical school with that gpa

I'd agree with the above poster. Although if you're really committed to med school then I would post-bac and possibly get an MS degree after the post-bac. Plus your mcat would really have to shine. Just my 2 cents. I wish you the best of luck though in whatever you decide to do.

Members don't see this ad :)