This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dave99

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I would like to know the likelihood of me getting interviews and getting into schools. I went to a community college for my first two years and finished my last two years of undergrad at a university. I have a degree in biology. My cGPA is 3.85 and my sGPA is 3.80. My MCAT is 512. I have 250 volunteer hours as a counselor at a camp for kids with autoimmune disorders. I also have 8 shadowing hours with a podiatrist, 8 with a hospitalist, and 8 with a family medicine physician. I’m from Alabama, so I will be applying to all my in state schools (UAB, USA, VCOM and ACOM). I plan to apply to at least twenty med schools both DO and MD. Is 20 sufficient or should I apply to more? Also WAMC?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

You are competitive for all your Alabama schools. I suggest any of these OOS MD schools:
Tulane
Wake Forest
Miami
Eastern Virginia
Quinnipiac
New York Medical College
Drexel
Temple
Jefferson
George Washington
Oakland Beaumont
Rosalind Franklin
Medical College Wisconsin
St. Louis
Creighton
any new schools that open for 2019 (Seton Hall, NOVA MD, Roseman, Kaiser)

Reactions: 1 user
You are competitive for all your Alabama schools. I suggest any of these OOS MD schools:
Tulane
Wake Forest
Miami
Eastern Virginia
Quinnipiac
New York Medical College
Drexel
Temple
Jefferson
George Washington
Oakland Beaumont
Rosalind Franklin
Medical College Wisconsin
St. Louis
Creighton
any new schools that open for 2019 (Seton Hall, NOVA MD, Roseman, Kaiser)
Do you think me having only 250 volunteer hrs will hurt me ?

Members don't see this ad :)
You should add 100+ clinical volunteering hours (hospital setting would be good) before you apply.