WAMC/School List Help: 3.94 sGPA, 513 MCAT (124 CARS), NY Resident, ORM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AstroSidekick

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’m planning on applying in the upcoming application cycle. Any input on the school list would be great!!

State/Country of Residence: New York
Ties to other States/Regions: Michigan (lived for 15 years + undergrad), Colorado (brother lives there, visit often)
URM?: No
Year in School: Graduated 2021
Undergraduate Degree: Neuroscience and Philosophy of Science (TESOL minor)
GPA: 3.97 cGPA, ~3.94 sGPA
MCAT Score(s): 513 (129, 124, 130, 130). CARS is my main worry.
Research Experience: 585 hours in undergrad and I will have another ~3300 hours by matriculation since I work in a lab now.
Publications/Abstracts/Posters: Acknowledgments on a paper during Undergrad. 4 poster presentations last year (all virtual tho). Probs will have more by the end of this job.
Clinical Experience (paid and volunteer): About 750 paid hours (500 hours as a MA and 250 as a COVID screener). 150 hours as a hospital volunteer.
Physician Shadowing: About 125 hours total with a few surgeons and one FM doctor.
Non-Clinical Volunteering: 650 hours throughout undergrad (and will have maybe another 150 by matriculation).
Other Extracurricular Activities: Won a major writing scholarship to learn about science communication in France for a summer.
Other Employment History: 750 hours as a Physics TA. 156 as a Sexual Assault Educator.
Immediate family members in medicine? (Y/N): No (first-generation college)
A specialty of Interest: Open to everything but currently leaning towards optho or ENT. Work/life balance is important to me.
Interest in Primary Care (Y/N): Yes
Interest in Rural Health (Y/N): No. Want to work with underserved communities in urban areas.

MD -
  • NYU (Strong ties so worth it)
  • Yale (large focus on medical literature which I also have so gonna shoot my shot)