Walk or Drive, a Housing Question.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Walk or Drive?

• Drive

Votes: 5 26.3%
  • Walk

Votes: 14 73.7%

• Total voters

hernandez5

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for med studs advice on housing.

Recently accepted to a school that offers on-campus apartments. That option is very enticing to me as I was a commuter all through undergrad and post-bac. However, I also received an offer to rent a very nice home with all the bells and whistles, ~$250 cheaper per month, but a 20 min drive to campus.

Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Take the cheaper option. You will need a car anyway for grocery, etc.

Are you planning of going to class AND is your school located in a heavy snow state? If yes to both, live on campus. If no to 1 either, take the cheaper option.
$250 x 12 = $3,000 - $1000 (gas) annually = $2,000 saved x 2 preclinical yrs = $4,000.

Edit: @hernandez5 Just saw that you have daily mandatory lectures. Live on campus. No money is worth for you to commute everyday.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm in a similar situation, and I chose the on-campus apartments. My main reason was that the on-campus apartments would have medical students as well, and that made the decision easy for me. To know that I'll have people around me that are going through the same things as me was too good to pass up.

In any case, be aware of what kind of neighborhood you'd be living in. This is an important factor to consider at some schools.

It really depends. Are you going to go to lectures? You couldn't pay me to commute 40 minutes everyday. I would live on campus hands down.