Vetenary medicine after human medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.Salanke

Reaction score
I have been working with human especially pediatrics for 15 yrs now. My love for animals is immense. I am 42 yrs old. I was wondering if there is any way I can qualify for vetenary medicine and would like to spend rest of my life serving animals. If anyone have any information or suggestions please suggest.

Members don't see this ad.

Not without starting from scratch. The knowledge base is related but not enough to make you competent. As a MD pathologist, I have seen some MD crossover for veterinary anatomic and clinical pathology in rural areas in the past, but this is quickly disappearing as DVMs fill those roles.

What has made you decide to want to do veterinary medicine? Have you shadowed in a vet clinic? Or is it just a love for animals? Because vet med is dealing mostly with pet owners. So what's driven your decision that you want to do vet med instead?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
You'd have to go to vet school like everyone else ;) My vet school class had an MD in it, and he took all the same classes for years that we all did.

I had classmates that were about your age when I was in school. You go through pretty much the same process of applicants that are about to graduate college or recently graduated from college. Some schools require that your prerequisite credits are within 6 years so make sure you meet all the requirements before you submit your application. That's not the problem.
Please do know that you do not have to go through vet school to save animals. It is a huge commitment and lots of suffering, and after it's all done you may find that the jobs you will get are actually not what you want.

Reactions: 1 users
Before you even think about how to become a vet and cross over, I would think hard about what exactly it is you want.