Vet Tech Salaries?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

biogirl215

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just curious... What do those of you who are vet techs/assistants make in your location? Are you benefited (vacation, 401k, health insurance)?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Right now I make $9.54/hr, which, after our minimum wage increase in Oregon, is like 1.50 above minimum wage. I started out at $9 with no vet experience but plenty of animal experience. I'm an assistant, not a tech. I work part-time so I don't have any benefits (that I know of, lol).

$9 an hour coming in with just the 150 or so hours experience I got volunteering there. I work as an assistant/tech in that I do a lot of everything. I am only part time, so no real benefits. Offered a pre-tax health insurance option. I do get 1 or 2 sick days a year and paid holidays when they fall on my scheduled days.

This is at a small clinic though, 4 docs, <20 people in total. Full timers I know get better health insurance options and paid based on experience and certification.

Members don't see this ad :)
I currently make $12.00/hour. I am a licensed technician and I have been working at the same place for two years. I do get some benefits and vacation. I'm in Maryland, though, where the cost of living can be fairly high.

I am part-time OTJ trained and make $10/hour after nearly 3 years at my current clinic. No benefits. I also live in an area with a very high cost of living (higher than those who have posted so far). I think the other OTJ trained techs working full-time make around $11-13/hour. I'm not sure what the licensed techs are paid.