UVA vs UNC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Laelia

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to joining, thought I'd start off with a question. What's the general feel out there about UVA and UNC? I'm out of state for both of them, and I'm worried that my financial aid is going to be bad because of it - is this true? I liked both schools when I visited... I know that UNC is ranked higher on US News (but rankings don't always tell the whole story), and it's also good for primary care, which I may be interested in (but I'm not sure yet). Any thoughts? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Laelia said:
Hi everyone, I'm new to joining, thought I'd start off with a question. What's the general feel out there about UVA and UNC? I'm out of state for both of them, and I'm worried that my financial aid is going to be bad because of it - is this true? I liked both schools when I visited... I know that UNC is ranked higher on US News (but rankings don't always tell the whole story), and it's also good for primary care, which I may be interested in (but I'm not sure yet). Any thoughts? Thanks!

Personally, I wouldn't worry too much about how good a school is for primary care. You will learn to be a good primary care doc during your residency, no matter where you went to med school.

At UNC, you will pay out-of-state tuition the first year and I think it's about $58,000 (total budget). Your next three years will be in-state at about $33,000/yr. I have heard that UVA gives most out-of-staters enough financial aid to bring the cost down to about $48,000/yr (without aid I think it's somewhere in the mid to upper 50s). Based on these estimates, UNC would be cheaper.

You should probably apply to both and hope that you get to choose.

i61164 said: