US Citizen --> EU Medicine --> EU Residency??? SERIOUSLY need some advice...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clarkalim

Figuring things out...
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I seriously need some advice...I've been doing research on this on the past few weeks and still haven't come to any conclusions, so I need some help.

I'm currently an undergraduate pre-medical student wanting to attend medical school in the EU, finish residency in the EU, and practice as a physician in the EU.

I intend to gain dual citizenship in a country that allows it (i.e. UK, Sweden, Finland, Belgium, France etc.), and live in Europe for the rest of my life.

At first I was researching UK residencies only, and forum after website after forum was stating the difficulty of non-EU/EEA nationals of acquiring a spot in their 2-year Foundation Programme (basically equivalent to the U.S. residency, I suppose. Required to be licensed as a doctor in the UK).

So then I thought...why not check into other EU countries that may have more spots for non-EU/EEA nationals in their residency programs?

I'm willing to spend time to learn the language. Where I live we have several language schools (there's a German language school right down the street from my home, with all the teachers being native speakers), and I can utilize Rosetta Stone and other resources as well. I would even be willing to possibly complete a Master's degree in the actual country so I can be immersed in the language there and learn it fluently.

Basically, I'm willing to do whatever it takes.

Again, I'm intending to complete all of my medical training within the EU, but I won't be able to gain citizenship within a country there until I've been living there for 5 years on a non-student visa. Which is the problem--I can't work until I finish my medical training, but it's difficult for non citizens to get a spot in the medical training so...ugh.