[Urgent] Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

retro

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

First of all, thanks for taking your time to read my post. I will be applying this cycle, but I am a novice in terms of the application process, so I'm asking for your advice. The following information describes my situation right now.

1. After 5 yrs (2yr undergrad + 3yr graduate courses), I'll be maintaining 3.83 for both cGPA and sGPA.

2. Took MCAT and ended up with 27 (6 vr, 9 ps, 12 bs).

3. It's a lame excuse for my poor verbal score, but I lived in one of the Eastern Asian countries all my life since 3 yo, graduated high school there, and moved to the states for college. Technically, I am a U.S. citizen because I was born here. I am now also a NJ resident.(random, I know..)

4. Voluntary experiences include riding as an EMT for the first two yrs of college, holding and coordinating blood drive on campus, planning parties for children in hospital. I will be shadowing physicians after this semester.

5. I have ~1.5 yrs of research experience in the field of pharmacology and medicinal chemistry. Many presentations, but never published any paper.

6. List of schools I'm planning to apply starting upcoming June:

DO schools: (definitely applying)

CCOM, NSU-COM, AT Still, KCUMB, NYCOM, PCOM, UMDNJ-SOM, WVSOM, Touro-CA, LECOM, Touro-NY, WCU COM

MD schools: (depends - read below)

Now...I'm a realist, and I know I have a very low, if not no chance for any of the MD schools with my MCAT. My shot on DO schools aren't looking bright either.

Here's my question: