3.9/510 MCAT.. any advice appreciated!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigfoot36487

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a student from an average in state college. Here are my extracurriculars… please be as harsh as you need to be because I’m looking for any advice. I also am wondering if I should retake the MCAT? I plan on applying broadly to DO/MD but if there is more of one type of school I should be applying to please let me know.

1) cGPA: 3.9 (biomedical sciences major), sGPA: 3.75
2) 510 MCAT (128/127/127/128)
3) Iowa, USA
4) Asian
5) University of Iowa
6) hospital volunteer and a volunteer mentor (200 hours), scribe for free medical clinic for underserved (50 hours), Psych inpatient unit education helper working with kids with psychiatric disorders and eating disorders- helped a lot with schoolwork and general supervision (240 hours), medical childcare assistant working with kids with severe disabilities (projected around 350 hours)

7) clinical neuropsych research lab- 600+ hours (no pubs, undergraduate research conference, starting independent project this semester, won research grant)

8) shadowing- 150 hours (have shadowed ophthalmology, peds, radiology, FM, plastic surgery, gastroenterology and also shadowed in another country)

9) English tutor -100 hours (help practice English with immigrant and refugees in Iowa city, created a summer English group class program and volunteer one on one to practice)

10) Dancer on cultural dance team- 600+ hours (won a few awards and an out of state competition), Secretary for health org- (0 hours, haven’t started), executive board for a cultural student org- 100 hours (had some average leadership positions here)

11) just 2 scholarships through the university and deans list

12) hobbies with crocheting and my instrument

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Hi,