Unprecedented Residency Situation, Need Advice Please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medical Anomaly

Reaction score
Hello All,

Thanks for reading this post. Any and all advice is appreciated.

I am currently a PGY-2 at an ACGME accredited family medicine residency program.
I graduated several years ago from medical school and did 1.5 years of ACGME accredited family medicine residency at a different program, before leaving for a year due to burn-out.

I had an opportunity to return after a year to a different program and i took it, starting as a PGY-1. After a year at this program, I am feeling as though staying all 3 years in this program would not be particularly useful, as my intention is only to practice outpatient medicine. I did not complete my PGY-2 year at the first program, but I did complete PGY-1 and all of its requirements and I would like to know if it is possible to apply the year of my previous training to my current training. ACGME only states that you need a total of 3 years and I cannot find anything that either confirms or negates the ability to combine total training time.

My situation is a bit unprecedented, as I left one specialty and returned to the same specialty. I have seen people leave one specialty for another, ex. family medicine --> psychiatry, in which case their PGY-1 year was counted.

Does anyone have any advice on this? Is it even possible? If so, how would I go about the process?

Thanks so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

• Dislike
  • Okay...
Reactions: 2 users
would not be particularly useful, as my intention is only to practice outpatient medicine.

Uhhh, yes it would be useful. To practice outpatient medicine, you need to complete a residency. FM is a short residency, buckle down and finish it.

• Okay...
Reactions: 10 users
Hello All,

I am currently a PGY-2 at an ACGME accredited family medicine residency program.