Unorthodox Treatments

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AFMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated less that a year ago, and getting used to practicing on my own. I still ask a lot of advice from other providers at the clinic, as well as look up a ton of stuff on up-to-date.

I've seen some interesting treatments from the other providers that up-to-date has nothing on. For example, using Clomid for low testosterone or using nitro or isosorbide for pvd. There's some research out there, but it doesn't seem very standard.

How common are these seemingly non-traditional treatments? How comfortable are you guys at trying these treatments based off your own clinical experience? Is the liability that much higher when doing something like this?

What I'm most interested in: What are your guy's uncommon treatments that just work that we might not know about?

Members don't see this ad.

Clomid is sometimes used by endocrinology for hypogonadotrophic hypogonadism (off-label), but I wouldn't do any of that stuff, and I think asking people to provide their favorite unproven (what I assume you mean when you say "uncommon") treatments is asking for trouble. And, yeah...liability.

Last edited by a moderator:
Members don't see this ad :)
Uncommon is usually uncommon for a reason.

Probably mostly because there are so many reasonable options for so many medical conditions. There are multiple guidelines for some disease processes, and this guidelines change. There are many regional differences in the office of medicine, not to mention generational differences.

Something I've noticed, is the incredible variation in the practice of medicine. Some call it the art of medicine. Maybe it's a bad thing, and we all talk about eliminating "non-value added variation" or whatever it's called. I don't know.

All the more reason to talk about it, right?

But...your OP didn't talk about any of that stuff.