University of Kentucky Ob/Gyn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bkrone1

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a resident at the Univeristy of Kentucky. We somehow had 4 out of the 24 unfilled Ob/Gyn spots. We were humbled and surprised by the match turnout for our program. I was wondering if any of you guys on this forum had interviewed with our program, and if so:

What are your honest opinions of the time you spent at UK?

What factors determined your ranking or not ranking the UK Ob/Gyn program?

What things good/bad/indifferent have you heard about our program?

Thanks for the input!

Members don't see this ad.

I interviewed with your program this year. I honestly really liked the program and everything that was offered. I just was not a big fan of the city of Lexington. I grew up in a city similar in size to Lexington and I just wanted to move to a larger city. I thought the residents were great and very personable. The staff did a great job of introducing themselves to the applicants and answered any questions. I honestly can not think of any one thing in particular that would cause your program not to fill. Did you end up filling any of the spots after the scramble??

I interviewed and though the program was overall fine. I thought the facilities, however, were very outdated and thet the program had too many of its own grads. That being said, I think that when the new hospital is built, the program will be getting a face lift.

Members don't see this ad :)
I applied but declined an interview there primarily because of location. However I will say that I heard rumors about the program on the trail, specifically that it was very malignant and that the residents were not happy. Of course these are rumors....whose knows if there is any truth behind it.

browncow said: