UCLA or Cornell

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

skyhyp2009

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Normally, I wouldn't be posting this up and try to use the search function to find my own information. And I've been able to shorten my list down to these two schools.

And I have seen some past threads already, but there was only one thread made relatively recent (one last year). The ones before that were 2006 and 2003. I'm not sure if the information there applies...so...here I am asking for some opinions...because I'm really torn.

Few things first:
family/residency: I'm a California resident, but have stayed in the Northeast for the last 4 years. I have family in California, but don't really care one way or another about distance from family during medical school (although it'll be pretty important for me in residency and beyond). Also, I suspect many people will ask me where I want to go for residency. Honestly, I don't know. By then, staying close to family will be important, but there's a 50-50 chance my family will move from SoCal to NY in the next four years.

prestige: since this almost always comes up in discussion between medical schools. I went to an Ivy for undergrad and realized that the prestige is overrated. So for medical school, prestige is not a factor. I just want a good education...and enough "prestige" in whatever school I choose to go to so that I won't have doors slammed shut in my face. With that standard, both are more than okay.

weather/other factors: I'm not that much of a beach person, but I really like Cali weather (missed it for the last 5 years =/). Honestly, in the end, that one factor might make me choose UCLA over Cornell. But I don't want weather to be the deciding factor of why I choose a certain medical school.

---