Trying for a baby at the end of intern year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohsnap123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year medical student applying into OBGYN getting married at the end of 4th year to a now-1st year law student. If I match in the city where he is, we'd like to have a baby at the end of my intern year (summer or start of his third year). His schedule as a third year law student will be more forgiving than his schedule the first couple years in his practice, and we have family in the area.

Has anyone who's done this able to comment on the feasibility of being pregnant as an intern in OBGYN? I'm going to stop my birth control post match to allow my cycles to regulate (I've been on hormonal birth control for 8 years), but we won't try for a baby until the wedding has passed. I'm expecting it to take us several months to get pregnant, but it's possible I'd get pregnant right away and be due in February of intern year.

Members don't see this ad.

These LH piss test strips should make the planning easier. Used the Shettles method to try to skew the odds of having a girl first because of temperament preferences and it helped knowing exactly when ovulation occurred. You might want to buy specimen containers too. Having about 100 tests should let you accurately track your LH spike for ~6 months.

Amazon product

I'm a 4th year medical student applying into OBGYN getting married at the end of 4th year to a now-1st year law student. If I match in the city where he is, we'd like to have a baby at the end of my intern year (summer or start of his third year). His schedule as a third year law student will be more forgiving than his schedule the first couple years in his practice, and we have family in the area.