This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTAwesome

Licensed Physical Therapist Assistant
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd like to dedicate this thread to general tips on how to dress as a PTA/PT, particularly while going though clinicals. Most sites have dress codes for their students and employees, but in my experience some places are pretty vague and it leaves one stressing over whether they'll be over or under dressed on day one.

Here's my own tip:
I'm an SPTA starting my final year of PTA school in a couple weeks. Prior to starting PTA school, I worked in a factory and wore exclusively t-shirts and jeans.
In preparation of clinicals (and in hopeful preparation of holding a career as a professional in the near future) I've started to build a wardrobe of "professional" clothing. Tops, slacks, accessories, all high quality items all purchased secondhand or super-duper cheap. I'm talking like-new blazers for $0.44 at Good Will liquidation sales and tag sale 1/2 price slacks from the Salvation Army. Sometimes it's a bust, but sometimes you can find the perfect item with a perfect fit at a fraction of what something like it would cost brand new. I can't recommend secondhand shops enough.

And my questions:
How do you dress? What have you learned about representing yourself through the way you dress? What do you wish you'd done differently when building your PT/A wardrobe? What kind of clothes are and aren't functional in this line of work? Is a wristwatch a no-no due to its potential for scratching a patient or harboring bacteria?

Also:
I've got a nice section of my closet dedicated to "professional" clothes and it served me well during my first clinical, but I'm missing a major detail: shoes.