Thoughts on circumcision?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Curcumcision on newborns

• I would discuss the benefits and drawbacks with the parents, in a non-biased fashion.

Votes: 44 49.4%
  • I would do my best to encourage the practice of circumcision, however subtly.

Votes: 11 12.4%
  • I would discourage the practice of circumcision based on current information.

Votes: 22 24.7%
  • I would counsel patients very little in this regard, and simply do what the parents asked.

Votes: 12 13.5%

• Total voters

cfdavid

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just curious on peoples thoughts/opinions on this topic.

Members don't see this ad.

I am not a student doctor but a student nurse midwife. I feel that if they asked me about some other cosmetic procedure for their child that would not confer real benefits, medical or otherwise, I would discourage it, so the same should go for circumcision.

Circumcision has no benefits? :confused:

Members don't see this ad :)
I think it's preference (often religious), and would discuss it objectively, but I was struck in my board review the other day -- going over male repro path the book (BRS) kept repeating itself: decreased incidence with circumsision. Lower incidence in circumcised men. That being said, much of the pathology that becomes troublesome seems to be linked to hygiene. So circumcise or don't but either way you teach the boy to wash himself properly and use condoms!