General Admissions & OTCAS Thoughts on application stats and improving for upcoming cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychtoOT

Reaction score
Hello all! I have been considering a field change for a few years now and have finally come to the conclusion that OT is the best fit for me. I spent undergrad studying psychology and working extensively in a behavioral neuroscience lab, so I am a little bit worried that my stats/experiences won't line up with what schools are looking for. Based on my financial situation/desired timeline, I really would like to try to get more experience leading up to this application cycle and apply, then apply again if I don't get in this year. What are you thoughts on my stats below?

Degree: BA Psychology, with honors from American University
GPA: 3.98
Pre-req GPA: Currently 4.0 (I have a plan to take my outstanding pre-reqs in the summer, A&P 1 and 2)
Shadowing Hours: Have not started shadowing, working to get this started as soon as possible. My goal is to get 80 hours in two different settings by time of application.
Extracurriculars/Volunteer: 2+ years working in a pre-clinical behavioral neuroscience lab (conducted an independent research project, did an independent reading semester focused on researching drug use at different stages of development, trained other undergraduates, assisted with various projects, presented at two conferences, and have 1 first author publication and 2 other publications), served on the undergraduate curriculum committee for my school's psychology department, was an undergraduate TA for a semester, student member of a psychology honors society (Psi Chi), currently volunteering at a hospital (currently 20 hours experience, will continue to get more each week).