The REAL deal

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
I

irishguy

Hi everyone,
I just wanted to try give a neutral perspective on all this RCSI Vs. UCD Vs. Going to Ireland for medical school at all.

I'm a current RCSI student, in my second year here. I've also done a year of medicine in UCD, after which I transferred to RCSI.

I'm irish, so fees weren't on my list of worries when choosing medical school, and thinking about it i didn't really mind which medical school i went to. This is because education is excellent in all five medical schools no matter what anyone says. My two brothers went to Trinity and my sister went to UCC, all doing medicine. We don't bicker about which college is the best because there is virtually no difference. With regards facilities, all are basically the same. There is no underhanded sly business going on in RCSI as some people have suggested, and all should be aware that RCSI, UCD and Galway medical school are all under the jurisdiction of the National University of Ireland, which ensures standardised education.

The point I'd like to make is, that is doesn't really matter where you go to college in ireland, you'll be well educated everywhere. However, with the large amount of american students in RCSI, they do put more time into preparing for USMLEs and helping those intending to go to the USA after the course. Take a look at the irish students, we don't really care where we go to college, hence the entry requirements for all 5 medical schools are practically the same. I simply chose UCD to begin with because it was closest to where I lived. My parents moved to north dublin after my year in UCD (and i with them) and i changed over to RCSI because it was eaasier to travel to every day, it's as simple as that!