Studying for Step 1 during school year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

buckeyegal1129

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I’m an incoming M2 trying to organize some of my study materials from first year. My school told us not to study for Step during the summer other than looking over high-yield material for step and clinic that we already learned (primarily common cardiopulonary conditions like hypertension and common treatments/medications like statins, beta blockers, etc), otherwise we would get burnt out.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone had any advice for slowly studying old material during the school year (e.g did you do 2 hours a week for old stuff, certain number of topics, just waited until dedicated Step studying time, etc). Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

I started studying January of M2. I did about 3 hours of questions per day during the semester, 30 questions/day in sets of 10 on random (Rx). Took the test in early June, after 3.5 weeks of dedicated. Looking back, if I had to do it again I would do it exactly the same way. My best advice is to pick a date that you're going to start studying and then forget about it until that date. I spent so much time stressing about it fall semester, because so many people were already studying and I felt like a slacker. But in the end I'm glad I waited, and I wish I had spent less time worrying about what everyone else was doing.

Reactions: 1 users
does anyone have a template plan that they used to study? trying to figure out an efficient way to study over the next year or so