Starting a new chapter...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blkjkvet

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am looking for some advice and guidance. I'm only 23 - I need 17 credits to have all the pre-req courses for UW-Madison. I plan on applying there because it is a great school and for the in-state tuition. I will not have a bachelor's degree - 3 out of 80 accepted applicants didn't either. I've been out of school for 3+ years (I graduated with an associates degree) and started a business, which is doing well. Is it possible to go to vet school three hours away and still be able to maintain a household (dogs, fiance, house, etc?). I know a lot of it is self-motivation, but are there any other posters that have a similar experience that can relate - or assure that it is possible?

Thanks very much!

Members don't see this ad.

So are you asking if you should move if you got in or are you asking if you should commute 3 hours? I'd move. Vet school is very difficult on your family as it is (I'm married and got 4 dogs and other pets and I live just 15 minutes from the school!). If you're asking if you should finish the bachelors, I just about always answer yes. Heck, you could even take a business elective or two to hone your small business skills. Make sure you work that into your application! Small business skills, especially if you want to run your own practice, are REALLY important...or so the VBMA club keeps saying. What small business are you working on, if you don't mind me asking?

If you're asking if you should finish the bachelors, I just about always answer yes.