Should I take step 2?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MavFab

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I saw some old threads that were similar, but was wondering if things have changed with the increasing competitiveness. I am a 3rd year DO student wondering if I should take step 2? I scored at 650+ on level 1, 245+ on step 1, and have a little bit of research. I plan on doing around 3 audition rotations next year. I am 100% set on PM&R, but don't want to limit myself on residencies. Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Those are excellent scores for any residency program, and especially PM&R. I don't think you would be limiting yourself by not taking Step 2. However, since you will be taking Level 2 anyways and the content overlaps a lot, IMO you might as well take Step 2 just to have continuity -- at least that's what I would do (and did) lol. Best of luck!

PGY4 here about to finish. I was about 510ish on level 1, 242 on step 1, 550ish on level 2 and I matched to my top choice. I rotated here as an MS4 and worked my ass off, often staying later than any other student. Anything mundane (i.e. scut work), I volunteered for and generally tried whatever I could do to make the resident's life easier (filtering out all of the unnecessary OSH notes from a stack of 100+ pages) . This definitely helped secure my spot as the senior residents have some pull (although not as much now) on who gets accepted to the program. My residency is an MD spot with many DOs (sometimes more DOs than MDs in that years class) and generally considered very DO friendly.