SGU residency match 2013

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DrBumblebee

MS-0
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A friend showed me SGU's 2013 residency match list from its official website. I've seen many "competitive residencies" (by residency type, not by program/hospital) filled by SGU students. Please, go to this link and check by yourselves. Assumption: these must be "facts", not fake data, for they've also provided with the residents' names (maybe I'm not crazy about too much conspiracy theory to think of that they're fake names.)

From the list, it looks like many SGU graduates have matched to competitive ACGME residencies along with FM, IM, EM.

I'm not a pro-Caribbean nor am I a US-MD applicant.. meaning, I'm happily applying for DO schools in this cycle due to that 1) I'd like stay in the States during medical school, and 2) don't wanna be labeled as FMG.

Having said that, I haven't seen such a strong match list at any of the DO school's websites, which I've applied.

What's the catch that I'm missing here?

Members don't see this ad.

it really doesnt look that different from the average DO school to me? I wouldn't say it's better or worse, I think most DO schools send 40-50% of their class into a primary care field and if you ran the statistics for that match list you may find the same thing or close to it

it really doesnt look that different from the average DO school to me? I wouldn't say it's better or worse, I think most DO schools send 40-50% of their class into a primary care field and if you ran the statistics for that match list you may find the same thing or close to it

Yeah, it's what I'm saying.

Also, DO schools send their students to mostly AOA residencies (which are so called "weak" in didactics), while SGU has sent its share to ACGME spots.

Members don't see this ad :)