Second Opinions and Guidance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WorriedStudent42

Reaction score
Hey guys! Just joined and was hoping I could get some second opinions and guidance. Last year I graduated with a BA in biology and applied to pharmacy school. I got into every one of my applications but that set off some red flags not gonna lie. I'm holding 3 seats (one at KGI, one at OSU, and one at Touro). Every time I look up the profession, I see pessimism. This contradicts a lot of info I've heard about the numerous paths one can take with a pharmD. I don't really have a backup but I am open to suggestions. Are there any pharmacists here that can help clear the air for me a bit? I've been told to pursue pharmacy if I really have a passion but no passion is worth coming out of pharmacy school 200+k in debt and have no career waiting for me.

Members don't see this ad.

So the pessimism comes from a couple of things.
1. The number retail pharmacy (your normal corner pharmacy) is shrinking due to mail order and other economic decisions that have decreased the number of positions for pharmacists nationwide. COVID might delay that a bit due to vaccination but after that is done the past trend will probably continue.
2. Pharmacy schools expanded like crazy and are graduating 15k pharmacist a year. Basic economics tell you that if supply exceeds demand prices falls. That is what is happening with PharmD salaries. While they are still high for any average joe ($45 an hour is still a very good wage in 2021 where I am at) the 200k in debt make the math hard and makes it not worth it as you can point out.