Second Bachelor's vs Post-Baccalaureate Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Amber1243

Reaction score
Hello all!

I am looking for advice as I decide the next steps of my pre-med journey. I have a B.S. with a GPA of 2.92. Unfortunately I was very sick throughout my undergraduate studies and my GPA suffered. This only further instilled my desire to work in the medical field and after taking a year to recover I enrolled in a Master's program. I am in my final semester of courses and have maintained a 4.0 throughout the program. It is a M.S. in education as I have a strong desire to work as a physician and serve in a medical school. Knowing that my MCAT score and the GPA from my pre-requisites will be critical to medical school admission, would it be best to complete a post-baccalaureate program or instead complete a second bachelor's degree to further show my academic recovery?

I have researched a number of programs and with my previous undergraduate work could complete a second bachelor's in 2.5 years, which is not much longer than the majority of the post-bacc programs I have reviewed. My main concern is that my previous bachelor's GPA will result in medical school immediately disregarding my application. I have a great deal of pre-requisites to complete so regardless of the path I'm committing to at least 2 years of courses. Do medical schools view completion of a post-bacc program in a more favorable light?

Appreciate hearing any feedback and/or stories from those with similar experiences.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Postbacc to get your GPA to 3.0, then SMP.

Edit: Just re-read that you have alot of prereqs to complete. You should calculate your cGPA and sGPA with those courses factored in and decide whether or not doing a SMP is worth it.