"Scrambled" into prelim surgery...now what?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

this is madness

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. Before I start I just wanna mention I did a few searches on this but I'm trying to gather some definitive answers (as definitive as I can get anyway).

Situation: I'm a US medical student who will be graduating in a few months from a state medical school. Med school was pretty tough for me (I know, another one of these); I had repeated third year (and also at one point appealed a dismissal decision). It was a bunch of factors including poor stress and time management and very bad burnout. Nonetheless, I overcame a lot particularly in the end of my third year leading into fourth year, and just kept persisting. I still passed my boards all on first attempts, but scores are not good. Step I 184, II was 203 and CS pass. Clinical evals were pretty solid.

Anesthesia was my goal and I ended up securing and doing well on two externships during my fourth year. I only ranked one program, however, because I had no other interviews. I also ranked a few medicine programs, including my home program, but ended up not matching into anything, and scrambling. After a long arduous process, I ended up with a surgery prelim position that my school opened up for me because I couldn't find anything else (they did this for some other students too).

I know this is somewhat of a new beginning and a fresh start in a way, but I want to move on with a solid plan especially since I'm going to be doing this whole residency search over again anyway. I have a few questions I need help with: