Russian MD --> Neurosurgery internship in EU possible ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LightofHeaven

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings everyone.

I'm a Malaysian student, 5th year undergrad here in the Russian State Medical University, Moscow.

I would like to specialize in the field of Neurosurgery and I have this interest to stick around and probably settle down somewhere in the EU. (Barcelona preferably)

I would like to ask anyone out there who has a Russian MD and has successfully gained admission to an internship or residency Neurosurgery program somewhere here in the EU.

I don't mind doing any local board exam(in the EU) if required. I guess its a global requirement to measure the standards and quality of the medical graduate from their respective university.

Regardless of which, I still have the option of doing it here in Moscow with my honours in hand.
The cons of doing it here : cost of living in Moscow is too high . There is no salary for interns. Juggling 2 jobs for cash is not something I'm looking forward to.

Any form of feedback is appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

LghtfHvn.ru

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there,
It's unfortunately not so easy as it's a non-EU degree but it sure is possible. Germany for eg. does employ quite a few docs from Russia now and then, so you might want to try there.

Spain, France and Portugal might all be open too as long as you pass the local board exams. Mind you that in order to work or undergo training in one of these countries, you have to be fluent in the respective language. For countries like Spain, France and Portugal, there are no official language exams to be taken but it is implicit as you have to take the local board exam in those countries' respective languages and also undergo interviews in the very same languages.