Retake classes or complete a graduate certificate in biology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MissBarnRat

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there! So this year marks my second round of applying to vet school with little success. I was able to score a waitlist seat last year but I never made it off and so far I have been rejected at 3/4 of the schools I applied to this year and I am still waiting on the final response from the school I interviewed at last month. To give you some background I majored in Biomedical Science and graduated with a cGPA of 3.08 and sGPA of anywhere from 2.78-2.98 depending on the school and what they took into account. I knew those gpas were looooow so I tried to make sure my application was fat elsewhere. This year I had 5 letters of rec (2 from vets, 1 from clinic office manager/cvt, one from old kennel employer, and one from a lady I used to dog sit for privately. As far as exp. goes, I worked for 2 1/2 years as a kennel tech at a dog kennel (freshman-junior years), and 11 months as a veterinary tech (post grad). I also worked for a year in undergrad (senior year) as a nursing lab tech at the school's nursing program and about 5 months as a cashier at a thrift boutique (also senior year) run by an animal shelter. I volunteered 2 summers (sophomore-junior) in a row at the wildlife center in my hometown, and I spent two school years (junior-senior) that I was oos as a volunteer in the cat room of the same animal shelter that owned the thrift boutique I worked at. I also have equine experience as I was competitive on the hunter/jumper circuit for over 10 years. As far as research I had very little. My school had just started research the year I was graduating and there was little opportunity to participate. I did do my own research project in my senior level biostatistics class so I gave myself 16 weeks for a few hours each week.