About to graduate with MS and no DVM acceptance yet

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Allcreatures355

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, I have a dilemma. I have my bachelors degree in veterinary science and all the pre reqs for vet school from a university. My overall GPA was 2.8. I have clinical experience in small animal/exotic with about 7,000 hours of experience as a head veterinary assistant and surgical assistant as well. I have farm experience as I grew up on a beef farm that was also a dairy farm. I have had two strong vet recommendations, a genetics professors recommendation, and an advisor (also DVM) recommendation. I have community service and club participation hours. I have some awards such as FFA/4H, small animal preventative care certificate. I feel that my essay is good and very thorough, but I may be wrong. I have applied for 3 VMCAS cycles. First I was rejected from 6 schools, second I was rejected from 4, and then decided this past year to attend LMUs VBMS program. I got a 2.733 GPA (B, C,A, B, C) the first semester, and this last semester I think I should have minimally a 3.5 GPA, bringing my masters degree GPA to about a 3.12. I applied to two colleges for VMCAS this cycle (third cycle) and was rejected from both OSU and LMU. I am unsure of what I should do now. I know I 100% want to go to vet school and will be applying the first day I can for VMCAS. I can’t find courses to take equivalent to the two Cs I got last semester (vet anatomy and physiology) without being a degree seeking student and I am hoping to be looked at for Spring LMU admissions. Should I take more courses? Should I focus on more hours? Should I work on something else? I’m very frustrated and lost.

Members don't see this ad.

I recommend you go up to the WAMC sub forum and follow the format that's in those posts. It lays out all your data in an organized fashion for us to be able to help you best