question about emailing residency directors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

izzie516

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm planning to email a few PGY2 residency directors in preparation for midyear, but I have this silly question that came up. I used to refer to everyone as Dr. so and so when I was still a student, but now I'm a PGY1 resident and have always called every pharmacist by his/her first name. So for emailing residency directors for the first time, do you guys usually use their first names or Dr. [last name]? Sorry about my silly question :)

Members don't see this ad.

I believe I would stay formal with the first email and wait for the response. if the director signs their name Dr. John/Jane Doe then I would continue to address them as Dr. If they sign it John/Jane Doe I believe that is okay for you to address them with their first name.

I believe I would stay formal with the first email and wait for the response. if the director signs their name Dr. John/Jane Doe then I would continue to address them as Dr. If they sign it John/Jane Doe I believe that is okay for you to address them with their first name.

as a side note I e-mailed my next rotation preceptor to touch base and the guy got all huffy and puffy cause I addressed him as Mr. _________ instead of Dr. ________ . Yes I should have done the research first to find out if he was an Rph or a PharmD but I just figured Mr. would be safe as it wasn't a female. :rolleyes: Then to be an even bigger punk at the end of the e-mail he said, "you are welcome to address me by my first name". I certainly don't like what I perceived to be his arrogance but I guess I could have avoided it all by finding out first if he was a PharmD:)

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)

Agreed. You are forming new relationships with people who are not your co-workers. It's probably better to err on the side of professionalism.