Put off school for another year...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lee9786

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in a unique position right now. Maybe your experiences can offer some insight...

I'm currently a resident of western Maryland. I've already crossed off the two options this state has to offer for PT education for a number of reasons (mainly undesirable location/passing rates.) I do like the University of West Virginia. The problem is 1) I'm not a resident of West Virginia currently, and 2) their out-of-state tution is ~25k/year (as opposed to ~9k/year for in state.) I'm also looking into applying to St. Francis University of Pennsylvania (private institution, ~23K/year, residency is irrelevant.) Location is an important variable because being close to family will ultimately increase my success in the program.

Many current PTs have recommended minimizing school loan debt as much as possible. I'm currently ~60k in debt from attaining my A.S. in Business MGMT, and B.S. in Nutrition Science from PSU. It's looking like my student loan debt will be ~135k (not including extra living/school expenses) if I remain on course and apply to programs this year.