Professionalism issue. How severe?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

twospadz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I had an issue recently that was of my own doing. Basically, I went to employee health at my hospital and requested a Covid test and Covid antibody test. I worked the Covid floors two months prior and plus I kept getting a lot of concern from family I am around since I work in healthcare.

When I went and asked for tests, I was denied. I was told I can only get the test if I was symptomatic or traveled to a different state. I was very frustrated at this point and did not use good judgement. I then said I did travel to a different state and I needed the Covid and Covid antibody test. I was then told to go to the clinic across the street but I would not get the Covid antibody until after I tested negative for Covid. I pushed back and said I wanted to get the Covid antibody today.

I got the Covid antibody that day. I was reported by the nurse to the admin for being rude and to being in Florida (even though I never traveled). I then talked to my program director On the phone and had to come clean that I never went to Florida. I have a upcoming meeting with her soon to discuss. How severe is this do y’all think?

Is this the first time you've been reported for "unprofessionalism"? Or is this part of a pattern of behavior?

I am a little curious as to why you were so insistent on getting the antibody test immediately. Or why you felt the need to get a COVID test 2 months after working on the COVID floors. I get that your family kept badgering you, but you're the physician - presumably you know that 2 months is well past the normal incubation time?

Reactions: 12 users
Is this the first time you've been reported for "unprofessionalism"? Or is this part of a pattern of behavior?