Prep classes. Worth it or not?

xnfs93hy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am studying for the June SAT but am not expecting a FANTASTIC score. I plan on taking them again senior year. I really want to make sure I score over a 2000.

My friend did a prep class and said it was a waste of money.

Is it worth it if I want to get >2000?

Members don't see this ad.

I never did a prep class and I did really well without studying. I think it depends on you as a person. Honestly, I would never pay money to study for a high school exam but it is up to you. Sine you seem to have some trouble with tests maybe it is a good option for you. However, I would suggest just getting some SAT books to study from and self study. It saves money and it should be sufficient help.

They're ripoffs. You pretty much just pay them to tell you to read prep books.

Members don't see this ad :)
It really depends.

If you're having trouble approaching the exam, having pacing issues or just have problems with strategy, a good prep class can be worth while.

I took one for the ACT in HS and it really helped with my pacing (got me a good 4 points). This was taught by a faculty member at my school who did know what he was talking about.

I also took prep classes for the MCAT. I didn't find this as helpful, but with the prep-class came access to Kaplan's test bank and other test-prep materials. These were very helpful.

I'm taking a prep-class for step I (sort of), it's more of a guided study course, basically focusing on ways to approach the test and identifying things that I should be focusing on to study. I'm using this to supplement the studying I'm doing at home.

The key point-

A prep class can be a useful supplement to study. If it's good, it will help you approach the test, make you familiar with the test and give you a good strategy which you'll be confident with.