Is it worth it to become a paramedic during college?

CrazyboyMD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it worth it to become a paramedic during college?

I'm a rising senior and thinking about doing it during college...I am enrolling in an EMT course this summer....

Should I just stay as an EMT-B or move forward with Paramedic?

Members don't see this ad.

As an EMT I would not recommend paramedic. In fact I would commonly recommend other things over EMT. I enjoy being an EMT but only do it if you want to be an EMT in addition to being premed. If you're just looking for some sort of paid clinical exposure be a scribe, in the sense of clinical experience it is essentially equal to an EMT. If I had to do it over I think I would pick phlebotomy or medical assistant over EMT, there's just more you can do.

As for paramedic, you will see WAY more stuff and do WAY more but it is also a minimum of like 10 months if you do the accelerated part time class. Where I work I can get my medic for free but it honestly just isn't worth the time I would sink into it. I would rather spend my time in clubs, research, or volunteering.

Do you guys think my CNA certification will help me with the course?

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you guys think my CNA certification will help me with the course?

Maybe, doesn't really matter though, the course isn't challenging at all. If you get an A in a college level science class you should be able to move through it pretty easily. I took an accelerated class, worked full time, and took 2 other college courses and I didn't have a problem with it. You'll have to study, it's not all just common sense, but it isn't super challenging material. Unless you get on a medic/basic truck you will primarily be doing transfers and maybe some priority 2s where I'm at.

Everyone, my EMT course requires me to work in the ER with a nurse as a part of the training, do you guys think I have to wear the uniform, or do you think I can wear scrubs?