Post grad nonclinical medicine options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pluto674

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year vet student and I dread every aspect of what we do in clinics. I can't see myself staying in this profession post grad- I honestly cannot wait to graduate and just be done and get out of it. I'm feeling a bit lost as to what my job prospects would be though..Does anyone have any suggestions of nonclinical medicine options for a DVM post grad?

Members don't see this ad.

There are clinical based medicine careers that aren't client orientated, such as lab animal or zoo animal (though they have their own individual challenges). Animal welfare auditing is something I strongly considered but don't have the capability to travel. Government positions are also a great avenue to use your degree.

I'll also say clinical year is *nothing* like being an actual doctor in clinical practice.

Members don't see this ad :)
Fourth year is something to be endured (like most of vet school, really) and nothing more.

What part of clinics do you not like? Clinics and practice aren’t necessarily the same. Though practice isn’t for everyone either so I get it. But before you throw in the towel it might be worth talking through it with people who are in practice outside the ivory towers.

Reactions: 2 users
Government work is the big one I can think of. Two of my previous coworkers are with the FDA, but there are other sectors that you might work in. @britzen @kaydubs @Teepster87 would likely have additional input. It may be more difficult without any previous interest or connections, though. Have you considered just not doing any veterinary work at all? What are the things you dread about clinics?

Reactions: 1 user
I’m with USDA APHIS in Animal Care. I enjoy regulatory medicine very much.