Post-Bac Average GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Emblem3033

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I am currently a senior economics major (pre-med). My avg GPA is 3.56 and Science GPA is 3.52. MCAT is a 519.

I am interested in a postbac program to boost up my GPA up. I was wondering if my stats make me at all eligible to apply to postbac programs, and what GPA most applicants that get in usually have.

I thought I might add I am an author (although not 1st) on 3 separate papers, have hundreds of hours of volunteer experience, have over 100 hours shadowing a variety of specialties, and have held multiple leadership roles over the years.

Any advice at all is GREATLY appreciated as I know my GPA sucks.

Please let me know if it is the end of the road for me yet for med school or not. I need honest answers

Members don't see this ad.

To be honest I don't think you need a post-bacc. Your GPA is decent enough especially when combined with your stellar MCAT and decent ECs. If I were you I would take a year working as a scribe or some other sort of clinical position and apply this coming cycle. If you apply broadly you have a great chance to get in somewhere

To add to this - post baccs are very high risk/high reward. If you don't have a really good post bacc GPA (3.7+) it will be seen by schools as a strong negative and may really limit your chances. No reason for you to take that risk since your GPA is good enough to apply.

Reactions: 1 user
If I were you, I'd apply with what you've got. For mid & low-tier MD schools it sounds like a strong app. If you're shooting for T20s then yeah you definitely need some GPA repair.

Members don't see this ad :)